Greetings enthusiasts:
I am advising a friend on a purchase of a well restored
XK150 roadster. After almost 2 years getting my own
roadster in perfect nic I feel qualified!
The car he's looking at runs and tracks wonderfully.

However one front fender seems to be about an inch higher
than the other - it is subtle but measurable with a ruler.
The bumper is 'even' to the eye with the headlamps, turn
signal lamps, and with the lower line of the front body
panels but when measured from the ground it is higher by
almost an inch on one side - so it's rather curious.

Also When measuring the chassis frame height and suspension parts from
under the car, all is even side to side - hence it does
not seem to be a torsion bar adjustment issue but rather a
fender panel mounting issue? I have suggested he hold off
on the purchase til we sort this out.

I have no experience with body work.

Is it easy to shim or adjust mounting points for front
fenders on an XK150? Or are they welded to the chassis?

Where are those mounting points found on a roadster?

Any advice from the forum would be most helpful. Perhaps
it's an easy adjustment - the seller is a fanatic
collector and never noticed the issue but acknowledges the
need to suss it out.
Kind regards
Greg Arnold NYC

Submitted by greg@nofatmusic.com on Tue, 11/12/2013 - 12:08

hi Otto:
That's a great resource thank you. I'm not sure we would be able to take the car from the seller to the shop for obvious reasons but I will see if we can take comprehensive pics and get them evaluated by your guys. 'I've spoken with a few body shop people who do muscle cars - and they do not have the knowledge necessary to assess, or adjust a vintage jag. Luckily they have the integrity to tell me so. It is not easy finding good resources. Thanks again
Greg

Submitted by greg@nofatmusic.com on Tue, 11/12/2013 - 12:07

hi Otto: